The battle within.

Today was a really hard day. For no apparent reason apart from the enemy.

I so often forget that there is a battle going on, a battle for my heart/soul, a battle for power, an enemy who wants to see me fall. Today reminded me just how real that battle is, and how scary it can be.

So what do we do?
The bible tells us to put on the whole armor of God (Ephesians 6), the belt of truth, the helmet of salvation, the breastplate of righteousness, the shoes for the gospel of peace, the shield of faith, and the sword of the Spirit, so that we can stand against the attacks of our enemy.

I don’t always do the right thing. I sometimes get too caught up in allowing fear and weariness and anger to control me. But when we mess up, it’s whether we turn and go to Jesus or stay right where we are that matters. And I am grateful that God has always had open arms for me, especially on a day like today where I feel I couldn’t be trusted. He is greater.

 

If you have never prayed for yourself in 3rd person….I highly recommend it. I did it for the first time today, and I asked God for things I normally wouldn’t, I saw myself differently, and I cared for myself more than if I was praying in the 1st person.

I also remembered that coloring, in small detail, is really calming. Usually worship music is what does it, but today that was not the case. The battle was more fierce than normal. Even though I can’t always stay in the lines, being able to focus on the small detailed shapes, and caring about what colors I use and what shapes should be what color, takes away all other thoughts. It clears my mind, and focus’ solely on that one purpose and my mind forsakes everything else. It is calm. It is at rest, as well as being productive. I would love someday, for my mind to be able to focus that well on Jesus. It is my hope.

 

So all this being said, I encourage you, no matter what your battle is for today, or tomorrow or next week, to find what calms you. To fight the good fight, to prepare yourselves for the battle, to do the right thing, to cast your thoughts on Jesus. To get your mind off of yourself and off of the enemy, and onto to Christ, whatever that takes.

 

Leave a Reply

