Don’t Grow Weary

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.” Galatians 6:9-10

To my fellow believers: People are tired. Tired from hours and hours of work. Tired from parenting multiple kids. Tired from growing babies. Tired from some of life’s circumstances. Tired from taking care of parents or grandparents. Tired from worrying about people. Tired from discipling/being invested in people’s lives…etc. Tired from all the activities we have to be at. Life is just tiring. And many of the things that make people tired, are not bad things, but really good things.

I have noticed that in many of my prayers and encouragements to others so far this year, this verse just keeps coming to mind and I think it is because people are tired. The majority of people I know, give and give, try and try, do and do until they are completely wiped out, and then they give even more until they crash.

I think what can be the most tiring, is when you don’t see a light at the end of the tunnel, or fruit for your work. That’s where you need community, other’s to show you, remind you of the path, the journey and of the end goal.

I highly admire mother’s and people who have learned the ways of endurance. I see that as such a strength and an ability that I hope to grow in. I also know that in that, is a need for community. People to help you endure, to help pull some of the weight (bear each other’s burdens), to encourage you with where you are working so hard in, to bless you with ways to take care of you while your taking care of others. So if your tired, let people bless you. Heck, even ask for help if you can muster up the courage. Learn to take a Sabbath as the 10 Commandments tell us to. If your not tired and are a ball of energy, find a tired person and help them out. Encourage them, walk with them and remind them why they do what they do, and this season will not last forever, but that it is an honor to serve God in any capacity. And take care of them.

“Remember the Sabbath day, to keep it holy. Six days you shall labor, and do all your work, but the seventh day is a Sabbath to the Lord your God. On it you shall not do any work, you, or your son, or your daughter, your male servant, or your female servant, or your livestock, or the sojourner who is within your gates. For in six days the Lord made heaven and earth, the sea, and all that is in them, and rested on the seventh day. Therefore the Lord blessed the Sabbath day and made it holy. Exodus 20:8-11).

“The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters. He restores my soul.He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake. Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies; you anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows. Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life, and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” Psalm 23

 

Leave a Reply

